This year’s AFCON, also known as the Africa Cup of Nations, is happening in Cote d’Ivoire from January 13 to February 11, 2024. This year’s AFCON is hosted by Cote d’Ivoire. This is the second time Ivory Coast is hosting the AFCON with the first in 1984. Twenty-four national teams from twenty-four countries will be participating in this tournament. The sponsor for this AFCON is Total Energies.

 The opening ceremony for AFCON 2023 was held at the Olympic Stadium of Ebimpé, located in Abidjan. This is one of the most important stadiums in the country mainly because of its size and glamour. It is also referred to as Arc de Triomphe.

The tournament will be played in five different stadia both in Ivory Coast and Guinea Bissau. The first is the Felix Houphouet-Boigny Stadium. It is located in the capital of Cote dÍvoire, Abidjan. It is also known as Le Félicia. The second is Stade de la Paix which means Stadium of Peace, located in Abidjan. The third is the Charles Konan Banny Stadium, located in Yamoussoukro, the capital city of Guinea Bissau. The fourth is the Stade Amadou Gon Coulibaly, located in Korhogo in Guinea Bissau.  The fifth and last is Stade Laurent Pokou located in San Pedro.

The twenty-four teams participating in the AFCON are Ivory Coast, Nigeria, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Ghana, Egypt, Cape Verde, Mozambique, Senegal, Cameroon, Guinea, The Gambia, Burkina Faso, Angola, Mauritania, Algeria, Tunisia, Mali, South Africa, Namibia, Tanzania, Morocco, The Democratic Republic of the Congo, Zambia.

There are lots of expectations for every team from their respective countries. Each country is vying for the first position to carry the trophy home. The AFCON season represents a time of togetherness for Africans. It is a time when each country represents its unique and glamorous culture.

We wish all the teams the very best!